All the latest news & weekly results from all teams and all divisions

Silsden CC

Club Detail
Red & Blue
Home Ground: BD20 0EH

It all began in 1879 when a few enterprising citizens called a meeting in The Mechanics Institute on Monday 5th May with the objective of forming a cricket club. The gentlemen had foreseen the necessity of providing sport for the village. Mr Goufrey Hastings was appointed secretary and Mr J N Driver as Treasurer.

After playing at various fields the present ground was leased from Mr Booth in September 1838. After a few years a very favourable lease on the ground was obtained through the generosity of Lord Hothfield this lease also included football, tennis and bowling.

Lord Hothfield as a further mark of goodwill toward the club gave the club the option of buying the grounds outright on very favourable terms and the combined clubs began the efforts of raising funds in July 1921 with a view to purchase the grounds when the lease expired in 1930.

The efforts were most successful and in 1930 the town had a 5.5 acre site for all time. To mark this achievement Mr Frank Driver purchased the adjoining 5 acres, which he handed over as a free gift.

Mr Driver also bought the club a motor mower and on the opening of the new clubhouse gave the club a cheque to cover all costs saying that he would not have the pavilion opened in debt. It is impossible to estimate what Mr Driver did for the club for his love of cricket and welfare of his fellow persons.

Silsden Cricket Club was very successful in the early years with many trophies coming their way. They won the Craven Cricket Union six times between 1891 and 1901 and were given the trophy outright to commemorate three successive wins. In 1920 Silsden won the Wharfedale Cup beating Yeadon they also won the trophy again in 1915, 1919 and 1920.
In 1921 Silsden joined the Yorkshire Council League always finishing in the top half of the league.

In 1927 a record first wicket stand of 182 by W M Wilson (118 no) and Harry Foutine (97) at Skipton was talked about for years to come.

1922 saw the debut of fourteen-year-old George Hanson he was to play for the next thirty-five years mostly for Silsden with the exception of a season at Bankfoot and the war years at Keighley and Ilkley. George took way over 1250 wickets for Silsden in 1931 he had his best season taking 79 wickets at an average of 5.5 and regularly took eight and nine wickets in an innings. Another notable feat was that of Joe Roberts who captained the side for 46 years.

In 1936 Silsden became founder members of the AireWharfedale Cricket League.

The late 1940s saw Alan Mason come through the ranks to play for Yorkshire and in 1949 saw Stanley Taylor score 1171 runs, a league record that stood for the next forty five years.

The 1950s saw Silsden produce probably its greatest talent in Barry Whittingham who won the league batting average aged 15 years old and went on to play county cricket with Nottinghamshire.

The late 1950s saw Silsden one of the top teams in the league with John Baxter winning the batting award in 1958.
In 1962 under the captaincy of Eric Barsby Silsden won the Waddilove Cup and Paddy Anderton fresh from winning the league batting and wicket keeping awards captained Silsden to defeat in the 1966 cup finals against Burley at Ilkley.
Success followed in 1970 when Silsden won the Charrington Cup against Gomersal.

In 1972 the 2nd XI won the Birtwhistle Cup at Crossflatts with Cameron Wilson being the only player to be present from the Waddilove Cup success ten years earlier.

Ian Pullan’s side, containing Bob Savage and Paul Bainbridge, won promotion back to the ‘A’ Division in 1978 but relegated suffered the next year.

During the 1980s despite producing three Joe Lumb players of the year; A Pullan, A Twigg and M Summersgill, Silsden had to apply for re-election on a number of occasions.

The appointment of former player Tim Sugden as captain in 1993 saw Silsden finish in mid table for five years.

In 1993 the unexpected death of President, Harry Sugden was commemorated with the unveiling of a stone bench with a plaque to his memory.

In 1998 under John Akrigg promotion was gained to the ‘A’ Division where Silsden played for two years.

1994 saw the completion of the practice area and in 1986 the new score box was built.

Silsden competed in three successive Keighley Cup Finals in 2001/02/03 being successful two times.

Hugh Sugden led the side to fourth in 2004 and eighth in 2005.

In 2006, again led by Hugh Sugden, Zeesham Quasim and Yasa Ali joined the club. Quasim proved to be one of the greatest pace bowlers ever to play for Silsden and in his three seasons took 196 wickets. Third place in 2006 was followed by third place again in 2007. With Quasim and now Aussie Matt Piniger, Silsden, led by Hugh Sugden, took the Division 2 title in 2008 by a clear margin with Quasim winning the League Bowling Award. Division one proved a step too far without our main stars and Silsden were relegated straight back to Division B.

2006 saw Silsden, under the leadership of Joe Sugden, win the first UAJCL Under 9s League sucess, also followed in

2007 and 2009 when Ben Sugden led the team to sucess in the same competition.

In 2009 after years of hard work, the new facilities was opened by Sports Minister Gerry Sutcliffe and a new era was to begin.

Simon Cox captained the side in the 2010 season with Hugh Sugden taking over the captaincy for the second half of the season. The 2010 season saw Silsden relegated to Division 3 for the first time in their history. Off the field the club made great strides following on from the clubhouse. It has seen the construction of a new scorebox and storeroom for the grounds equipment. The electronic scoreboard was funded by the members and will be fully operational for the start of the 2011season.

2010 also saw the passing of Mr Derek Jackson, a stalwart of the club for 60 years who held every official position available in the club.